The Day the Music Died – December 20th 2013

Standard

Have you ever looked back on old technology and felt a pang of sadness?Image

I did today when I saw that Winamp announced, that after 15 years, they would be shutting down production and discontinuing the product line after version 5.66.

If you are an old school geek (like me), you will remember downloading .mp3s when it was still cool and somewhat legal.  In fact, I remember meeting up on Friday’s with my friend Alby and listening to the various playlists cranked over the PC ….and of course, queued up on Winamp.  Was it really 12 years ago that we did that?

Sadly, Apple and MP3 Players have put an end to this – with iTunes now ruling the day.  But I know I will be making one last download before the 20th, because for me….Winamp will live for ever.

2 thoughts on “The Day the Music Died – December 20th 2013

Leave a Reply

