Weird Eats for Gamers? Christmas Tinner

Standard

The layers (top to bottom) include scrambled egg and bacon, mince pies, turkey and potatoes,I have some weird eating habits.  I never consistently eat at the same time – and due to my time with deployments (in both the Army and with the DoD) I acquired some peculiar tastes.  For one thing, I can eat anything straight from a can….and I prefer it cold.  If it has Tobasco on it, even better.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t love the finer things, but I will always have a place in my heart for tinned food.

Enter the “Christmas Tinner” – a nine layered “Dinner” in a can, a dinner that includes:

  • Scrambled egg and bacon
  • Two mince pies
  • Turkey and potatoes
  • Gravy
  • Bread sauce
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Brussels sprouts with stuffing (another option is broccoli with stuffing)
  • Roast carrots and parsnips
  • Christmas pudding

The logic behind this is a study by the producer of the product (and the UK’s leading video games retailer)  GAME

“According to new research almost half (43 per cent) of the nation’s gamers plan to spend the majority of Christmas day playing on their new consoles and games.”

“That’s why retailer GAME has developed the Christmas Tinner, enabling gamers to get their teeth into GAME play all day without having to miss out on a mouthful of their favourite food or do the washing-up.”

When I first read an article on this, I thought it was a hoax, but alas…it appears real from all the stories about it on the internet now, although I cannot find anywhere to buy one.  And as usual, none of the articles do any other comprehensive research to prove it is real – so I spent some time on this as well.

Apparently, this is a derivative of designer Chris Godfrey’s “All In One” – an even more complex 12 Course meal in a can, that is reminiscent in shape to the the holiday staple of cranberries in the US.  Since he is named in the article (and it appears nobody else has) I have reached out to see if this is real….and more importantly, where can I get one to try.

 

image image

 

In reality, I really am torn here – because it really does depend on the flavors.  If this were even slightly reasonable in taste…I could see this being one of those crazy comfort food crazes.  I know I would eat it, and probably stock it…for no other reason than shock value.

I also think they are missing a huge market here – as soldiers in the field seem like a better choice than geeks, because they will do anything for variety in their meals.  Or how about the Doomsday Prepper circuit?  This stuff could be flying off the shelves if done right.  I can see the motto now – “Christmas Tinner, not just for gamers anymore.”

What do you think??  Would you try it?  How about buy it as a gag (no pun intended) gift for a friend?   Sound off in the comments section and let me know.

2 thoughts on “Weird Eats for Gamers? Christmas Tinner

Leave a Reply

