I guess the Super Bowl needed OpSec

Standard

Back in the day, I used to posses a Top Secret Clearance (TS with several letters after it).  At the time, it was a lot of fun to be able to walk around some most highly classified facilities in the world and see what was going on.  Periodically, there would be a need for an “Un-Cleared” individual to come into those facilities…and when that happened, literally Red Lights would flash, classified information and screens would be covered and they would be announced everywhere they went….ensuring that everyone around KNEW that they needed to watch what they were saying.

Fast forward into my career – I have taken those lessons to heart, especially in my days as a SysAdmin.  Keeping system diagrams, configurations and passwords “Secret” was a lesson I learned, and tried to pay forward to the many people I have mentored.  Its that level of Operational Security (OpSec) that is sorely missing in today’s IT Field…and this was evident leading up to the Super Bowl, when a set of credentials was shown on screen during a CBS Broadcast. 

Now, granted – MetLife Stadium has free Wi-Fi available, and this probably only impacted Media and internal staffing, but this is a huge gaffe by the Network Ops people nonetheless.  To me, its like having the Admin Password taped under the keyboard.  Its bad practice and sloppy Network Security- especially with someone filming right behind you. 

I know a lot of my friends out there are Network/Sys Admins – What do you think?  Am I over reacting?

 

super bowl security fail

Leave a Reply

