Ever Cross a Samurai With Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer?

Standard

As a way to change things up, I decided to go over to the “Geek Side” today.

With the success of Guardians of the Galaxy…I thought I would turn to another comic classic that I have been a fan of for years…..Usagi Yojimbo.

https://i0.wp.com/media.ignimgs.com/media/ign/imgs/minisites/topN/comic-book-heroes/92_UsagiYojimbo.jpg

Usagi Yojimbo (meaning Rabbit Bodyguard) has been around for 30 years, starting in 1984 (also the first  year as TMNT and later picked up by the same publisher – Mirage Comics), this was one first indie comics I was introduced to back in 1987.  I loved the artistic style and the use of animals as characters (no – I am not a furry)…and when I was at Ft Deven’s, the Comic Shop in ran a TMNT RPG based on this world. 

Much like saying – I will never see a Hell Carrier or a Sentinel accurately depicted in movies (WRONG) or a third tier comic series come to life (WRONG again with GotG) – I am now seeing what could be a fun rendition of another great series from my youth.

Done in Stop Motion style (hence the Rudolf reference), the folks at Lintika Films (please like their FB Page) have really done a great job with this short.  I definitely will be picking up the DVD when it is released, and if you have kids getting into the genre – I highly recommend checking this out…

Leave a Reply

